going west!

Transferring from the sell out season at KXT - Kings Cross theatre, bAKEHOUSE brings THE LADEN TABLE back to the beginning for a special unplugged Studio Performance

In 2014 a small group of actors presented a staged reading with script in hand to three sold out performances at Information & Cultural Exchange (ICE) in Parramatta. After three years of development and a critically acclaimed, sold out season, THE LADEN TABLE returns to ICE for two performances only. 


I am talking but you don’t listen, I am speaking but you don’t hear me.

It's a special night for two Australian families. Jacob's family attends to the ritual of Yom Kippur, Ibrahim's family celebrates Eid. By the end of the evening, a secret they both share will be exposed. And it will change their lives forever.

A brave piece of writing challenging ‘dinner table racism’, the first draft of The Laden Table played to packed houses over 3 nights at ICE in 2014. Now with a newly developed script, The Laden Table was presented as a produced reading as part of the Invisible Circus Women's Festival at KXT - Kings Cross Theatre - the last stage of its development before a full production in 2017.

With the divisive rhetoric of Trump and the constant surprise of Pauline in public office, this is about as topical as it gets.  

Written by Yvonne Perczuk, Nur Alam, Raya Gadir, Chris Hill, Marian Kernahan & Ruth Kliman.

Directed by Suzanne Millar; Assistant Director John Harrison; Lighting Design Benjamin Brockman; Set Design Courtney Westbrook; Sound Design William Newnham; Costumes Sonia McAlpine; Stage Manager Andrew McMartin

With Abi Rayment, Alex Chalwell, Donald Sword, Doron Chester, Geoff Sirmai, Gigi Sawires, Jessica Paterson, Justina Ward, Mansoor Noor, Monroe Reimers, Sarah Meacham, Suz Mawer.

2016 team

Written by Yvonne Perczuk, Nur Alam, Raya Gadir, Chris Hill, Marian Kernahan, Ruth Kliman; Directed by Suzanne Millar; Technical Support Andrew McMartin & Heidi Annand; Produced by John Harrison

With Abi Rayment, Carla Nirella, Chris Yaacoubian, Dalia Dior, Davey Seagle, Geoff Sirmai, Julia Christensen, Justina Ward, Mansoor Noor, Monroe Reimers, Sarah Meacham, Tony Sloman